Revival Thoughts

Hi all!

I finally finished the revival and my head is still spinning a bit. It will take several more watch-throughs to really form a solid opinion, but right now I’m pretty happy with the episodes overall. I will definitely be getting started with the references soon (whew, there were a lot!) but here are a few thoughts first.

I love the parallels that were set up through the last scene (and the theme throughout the show of life coming full-circle). I don’t want to spoil anything in case you aren’t finished yet, but I will say that I think Rory’s path, while still difficult, will be much smoother than Lorelai’s from here on out (much of that is thanks to Lorelai’s strength in raising Rory so well).

A reader pointed out that Rory’s goodbye scene with the Life & Death Brigade was the goodbye scene from the Wizard of Oz (great catch by the way, I don’t know if I ever would have noticed that!). The reader asked if I thought Logan was the Wizard of Oz/con man. I have to say, while I don’t think the scene was intentionally set up to paint Logan as the Wizard, there are several parallels. They both use lies to get what they want in life, a young woman knows their lies, and they try their best to give that young woman what she wants. Ultimately, however, neither of them is truly helpful, and the young women find other ways to reach their goals. I don’t think either Logan or the Wizard were really con men: they had serious weaknesses and found (admittedly deceptive) ways to overcome them. They had the best intentions though, right??

I would love to hear your thoughts about the revival! Feel free to comment or email and let me know anything that stood out to you. There’s a lot to process!

Much love,

K

One thought on “Revival Thoughts

  1. Hi there,

    I have mixed feelings about the revival. It could have been so much better. I hated that Rory had such a hard time and so many doubts that she even had to ask Mitch Hunsberger for help. And I really didn’t like that she was that bitter. Also, joking about fat people -> not cool.
    I don’t know if you noticed but in almost every GG episode there is a German word or saying hidden. “Gesundheit”, “Bratwurst”, “Hitler” etc. For me as a German it is pretty obvious. I’m diying to know why they did that. Can you help?

    Like

Leave a Reply

