She’d put her head through a wall.

In S1E16, Tristan’s girlfriend walks away to go to class, and Tristan remarks with true Tristan-ish sarcasm, “Oh, to be young and in love.” Paris responds bitingly, “What a shame Elizabeth Barrett Browning wasn’t here to witness this. She’d put her head through a wall.”

Elizabeth Barrett Browning was an English poet in the 19th century. She was incredibly popular during her lifetime and used her platform to speak out against slavery and child labor. Probably her best known poem is “How Do I Love Thee.” Here is an excerpt:

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

I love thee to the depth and breadth and height

My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight.

(I just can’t resist including this choral adaptation of “How Do I Love Thee”).

Leave a Reply

