So we’re talking pre-“My Ding-a-ling?”

In S1E15, Lorelai and Christopher are talking about what songs Christopher can play on guitar (Smoke on the Water and Jumpin’ Jack Flash) when Richard leans back in his chair and says, “I’m a Chuck Berry man, myself.” Lorelai snorts in her martini and says, “I would never have guessed that that last sentence would ever come out of your mouth.” Richard defends himself by saying Chuck Berry was “all the rage” when Richard was in school. Lorelai says, “Uh, so we’re talking pre-‘My Ding-a-ling?'” Richard, looking confused, says, “I believe I am…”

Chuck Berry is a guitarist who rose to fame in the 1950’s. He was a rock and roll pioneer, heavily influenced by country and rhythm and blues.

“My Ding-a-ling” was actually a live cover that Chuck recorded in 1972, originally by Dave Bartholomew. The song is technically about a toy made of bells, but that is, of course, a double entendre. Many radio stations refused to play the cover, but it rose to number 1 on U.S. pop charts anyway.

Leave a Reply

