Joan and Melissa Rivers think I’m being morbid.

In S1E14, Emily and Richard are making fun of their dead friend’s taste in decor as they plan to rent his old vacation home. Lorelai jokes, “Well, he’s dead now, so he got his!” Emily looks horrified and replies, “Lorelai, you’re being morbid.” Lorelai says, “I’m being morbid?” Rory interjects, “New subject, please,” and Lorelai tells her, “Joan and Melissa Rivers think I’m being morbid!”

Joan Rivers, born in 1933, was a comedian and actress known for her sharp and yes, sometimes morbid sense of humor. Her daughter, Melissa Rivers, is also an actress and has appeared in several collaborative projects with her mother. After Joan’s death in 2014, Melissa took over her hosting spot on the show Fashion Police.

A few noteworthy morbid jokes from Joan:

“The fashion magazines are suggesting that women wear clothes that are ‘age appropriate’… for me that would be a shroud.”

“I knew I was an unwanted baby when I saw that my bath toys were a toaster and a radio.”

Leave a Reply

