Lucy, I’m Home

In S1E6, Lorelai arrives home and greets Rory by yelling, “Lucy, I’m home!”

This is a reference to the show “I Love Lucy” which aired in its original form from 1951 to 1957. The show centers around the funny antics of a married couple, Ricky and Lucy Ricardo, played by Desi Arnaz and Lucille Ball. When Ricky arrives home, he frequently yells, “Lucy, I’m home!”

It’s surprisingly difficult to track down a clip of Ricky Ricardo’s famous line, but here’s a funny bit from the show.

3 thoughts on “Lucy, I’m Home

  1. Pingback: Pull a Lucy Ricardo and walk like a chicken | Every Gilmore Girls Cultural Reference

  2. Pingback: Landlord to Ricky, husband to Ethel, I know. | Every Gilmore Girls Cultural Reference

  3. Pingback: I did a little matchmaking. | Every Gilmore Girls Cultural Reference

Leave a Reply

