Well, I want to be in the Bangles…

In S1E5, Lorelai meets Max in a coffee shop in Hartford. He tells her, “I think we should date.” Lorelai asks, “Why?” Max answers, “Because I think we both want to.” Lorelai responds, “Well, I want to be in the Bangles. It doesn’t mean I should quit my job and get a guitar and ruin my life to be a Bangle, does it?” “The Bangles broke up,” Max quips.

“That’s not the point!”

The Bangles are an all-female rock band, known for “Walk Like an Egyptian,” “Eternal Flame,” and “Manic Monday.” They broke up in the late 80’s, but interestingly, the same year Gilmore Girls season 1 was airing, the Bangles had a reunion tour. They released a new studio album in 2003.

 

2 thoughts on “Well, I want to be in the Bangles…

  1. Pingback: The Bangles at the Pastorelli Theatre on Saturday | Every Gilmore Girls Cultural Reference

  2. Pingback: You will be walking… like an Egyptian. | Every Gilmore Girls Cultural Reference

Leave a Reply

